Mama Güs is ready to quit

Standard

I’m done. Screw it. Had enough. I quit! I can’t do this 80/20 primal thing any more! I went in promising myself that I wouldn’t let anyone or anything make me eat the foods that make me feel slow, lethargic, fat and useless, and I broke that promise, and keep doing it at least once a week! It’s either all or nothing, no in-between.

I choose ALL.

There, I said it. All Primal, no grains, no legumes, no sugar. No. Fucking. Excuses! I QUIT SHIT!

I’ve been trying to adhere to this lifestyle as best I can since, what, September? Ish. I started off really well, went through those nasty sugar withdrawals that turn me into a fire breathing dragon and give me the junkie shakes – no wonder, refined sugar is like Cocaine for the brain, it takes a lot of willpower to kick that habit in the ass. Then the weekend rolled around, and instead of cooking dinner we phoned in pizza. And it began again, quickly turning into a vicious cycle of angry withdrawals followed by a cheat day followed by angry withdrawals…

I’ve been using exercise as a way to channel that anger, but I can’t exercise every waking minute of the day – I don’t have that kind of stamina! Consequently I’ve been walking around with a face like a smacked arse on the low days. I must be a really fun person to be around.

The last few weeks have been hard. I’ve been measuring myself often, about once a week or every 10 days, and while I’ve noticed that my pants are looser and my waist is definitely smaller, there’s one thing I haven’t been able to change lately – that spare tyre around my middle. After the first month, I had lost an inch, but now it’s back again. I found it hiding in a Chinese Takeaway box.

So now what?

Well it’s time to regroup and focus again on the end game – The Wedding. 1 year, 2 weeks and 1 day from now that pooch is gonna be ancient history, my arms will be lean and toned, and those love handles will be gone daddy gone. I’ll be standing there next to my handsome husband and I will feel like his equal in sexiness, not some frumpy lumpy puffed up meringue. We will look bloody BRUCE in those wedding photos!

Am I Primal today? Yes. And every day henceforth. I will make dinner. I will not eat takeaways. I will kick my own arse every day in my workouts, because the only person I’m cheating is myself, and cheating doesn’t get me the body I want. So take a good look guys, because this is the last time you’re going to see me like this:

So many wobblies

So many wobblies

Facebook: Mama Güs and The Waddlers

Instagram: @mamaguus

Are you on a health and wellbeing journey? How do you stay motivated? How are you progressing so far?

2 thoughts on “Mama Güs is ready to quit

Leave a comment